Molly Flanagan
12/12/2012 12:50:44 am

Hey guys, I think the website looks great! I liked what you put on the globalization, and how you included medicine on there. I learned a lot of stuff that I didn't know about the Amish. It would have been nice if you had a food page with recipes, but oh well. My group had Russia, and while I was doing searching I came across a video of a tiny community in Russia that has the kind of the same lifestyle as the Amish. Maybe you'd like to see it. Here's the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_KjiX-zPzw

Reply
Lindsay O'Keefe
12/12/2012 03:33:01 am

Overall, I thought your website was very good. It covered a lot of interesting information and it was also easy to navigate around the page. A specific part I liked was the part about medicine. I am a nursing major so that part really interested me because I did not know any information about that. I also liked that you used bullet points in most of your pages instead of stating your facts in paragraphs. Bullet points are easier to read and easier to grasp the facts you are trying to get us to understand. Another thing I liked was how you incorporated the TLC show "Breaking Amish." I am a fan of that show so it was cool that you added that into your website.

Your website was really great and I don't think there is anything you need to change. Great job!

Reply
Morgan Tondreault
12/12/2012 03:35:29 am

First off, I really like how you designed the website! I also thought it was great that you discussed the issues of social justice because often times the issues aren't really discussed. I also like how you addressed the fact that even though the Amish are secluded, they are not necessarily "immune" from globalization. Things like some rudimentary technology have become a part of some families in the community, and I liked how you brought attention to that.

Reply
daniel de la cruz
12/6/2013 03:54:43 pm

I live in florida but for a long time I've been thinking about living like the Amish live. How can I communicate with someone who can help with some questions I have.

Reply
Harry Argo
2/19/2015 10:00:36 am

Hi,
Great website. I'm doing some research on media effects on culture (specifically the conservative Anabaptist) and saw your "Hofstede's Cultural Dimensions & The Amish" Can you point me to your reference? As well, long-term versus short-term orientation, and indulgence versus restraint were not included (in Hofstede's latest book) but seem to be quite different among the Amish (long term and restrained--except during Rumspringa)!
Thanks!
Harry

Reply
Sumac
11/1/2018 06:54:18 pm

I really like this website, and appreciate the work put into it. I also like the layout - very easy on the eyes. Good job to all who participated.

As someone who has worked alongside Old Order Amish, eaten in their homes, and studied them for over 30 years, I did find a few errors in your texts. There is one I wanted to address, because I really hate to see it: the Amish do NOT ignore domestic violence. I worked in domestic violence years ago for a long time, and in sexual assault. I learned that the Amish have concern about both, just as we in the "outside world" do. When there is a problem with a family, the elders will often speak to the perpetrator of the violence and work to change it. The idea that they ignore it or condone it is just plain wrong, and unfair to these people.

I am also concerned when I see that younger people tend to misunderstand the Amish and gender roles. (I was horrified, frankly, to see your definitions of "masculinity" and "femininity" - is this what you learn in ultra-progressive classrooms? Good grief. Your definition demonizes men and romanticizes women - "masculine" denotes the negative, "feminine" the progressive. Disgusting. I say this as a self-employed, independent woman, btw. True equality recognizes strengths in both, and respects both.) As was the case with many traditional households, in the Amish community the men generally make decisions, and exert control outside the house - the farm, the church, etc. The women generally make decisions related to the home and the running of the home and child-rearing. The Amish see marriage as a partnership, where both have areas of more influence. I have seen this; I have sat in their kitchens - I know there are many kind Amish men who respect and support their wives. I would also point out that many Amish women have businesses on the side, and in some cases are the chief breadwinners of the household. They are active in handling finances and in most families, major financial decisions are jointly made.

I think, again, that it is baffling to today's youth that in a traditional marriage things could be "equal" - because youth see to equate "equal" with "same". In fact, in the Amish community, sometimes men are in charge, sometimes the women. One can of course find instances of abuse of power among the Amish as in the outside world. If you set out to find an example of cruelty you will find it. But the truth is, in most cases, genders have very separate roles that are seen as equally important, and marriages are most often a true balance of those responsibilities, and based on mutual dependence and respect.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Hi, There!

    Please leave a comment by using the button labeled "New Post". We would love to hear your input!